Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
News & Press: FIBA News

FIBA Installs 2018-2019 Board of Directors

Friday, June 8, 2018  
Posted by: Karina Zayas
Share |

A live bossa nova soundtrack, a rainbow gracing the Miami skyline and a packed house of the who’s who of the city’s international banking community marked the celebration of FIBA's 2018 Annual Membership Meeting at the Intercontinental Hotel on Wednesday.

Co-hosted by David Schwartz, President and CEO, and J. Antonio Bejarano, outgoing Chair, the evening's programming highlighted the outgoing Board's steadfast dedication, incredible work and accomplishments during their tenure.

In his address, Mr. Bejarano underscored the significant progress made over the past year: "None more important than what was achieved by the Legal and Regulatory Committee, chaired by Kim Prior, which paved the way for the modernization of international banking laws in the State of Florida."

For the second year in a row, the ceremony included the awarding of the FIBA Futbol League's trophies for the 2018 season. Taking home all three trophies in an impressive tournament sweep, J.P. Morgan claimed the championship, best goalie and most valuable player awards. 

As the incoming Officers and Directors were sworn in, and in accordance with a FIBA tradition dating back to 1988, Mr. Bejarano symbolically passed the (soccer) ball to his newly elected successor, David Hernandez.

In his address as FIBA's incoming Chair, Mr. Hernandez affirmed his commitment to his new role. "My goals are clear and simple," he said. "Maintain FIBA's legacy, raise awareness of our contributions to international banking and seek alliances that facilitate free trade and drive economic progress." 


Congratulations to the 2018-2019 FIBA Officers and Board of Directors:

David Hernandez, BAC Florida Bank

Chair Elect
Cesar Stuart, Banco de Credito del Peru

Vice-Chair & Secretary
Ivan Garces, Kaufman & Rossin

Sergio Alvarez-Mena, Jones Day

Michelle Fernandez, BCI Miami Branch 

Immediate Past Chair
J. Antonio Bejarano, BICSA

Executive Committee - Past Chair 
Teresa Foxx, Barclays

Alejandro Pereyra, J.P. Morgan

General Counsel
Bryan Wells, Shutts & Bowen



Karen Asher-Howard, HSBC
Michael Averitt, Citibank
Dimitri Barbosa, Banco Itau International 
Eloina Franco-Espinosa, Banco Santander International
Jorge Gonzalez, City National Bank 
Pamela Kohl, Banco do Brasil
Ariel Marin, Wells Fargo
Carlos Montoliu, Mercantil Bank
Ana Nunez, Northern Trust
Carlos Rodriguez, Eastern National Bank
Julio Rojas, BAC Florida Bank
Andres Roshardt, Davivienda
Liba Saiovici, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Jorge Salas, BANESCO
Carlos Soto, EFG Capital International
Jordi Torras, Banco Sabadell
Bor Van Der Weerden, UBS


Carlos Perez-Abreu, PAAST 
Guillermo Benites, UDT
Andres Fernandez, Holland & Knight
Daniela Fonseca Puggina, Baker & McKenzie
Patricia Hernandez, ARHMF
Judy Miller, ERM
Alberto de la Portilla, Integro Advisers
Michael Silva, DLA Piper
Robert Targ, Diaz Reus


Carlos Carreno, HSBC Mexico
Carl Fornaris, Greenberg Traurig


Luiz Carlos Couto, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Teresa Foxx, Barclays
Grisel Vega, BCI Miami Branch